Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people whom they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Being credulous in any line may result in various scandals. Be it government or private organizations. It is therefore, necessary to cross check the specious orders from seniors at personal levels before they are implemented. This kind of approach serves both, the nation as well as the officer, in best ways. Blind trust often results in one becoming victim of treachery. At worst, it can result in one being held culpable for neglecting corruption. There are several reasons for government officials to act judiciously at their own discretion.

To begin with, if government officials show amenable attitude, they are more likely to be persuaded by their senior officers for indulging into nepotism, bribery and corruption. Corruption is like a fungus it can spread at the slightest sign of negligence. And no sooner than it is born whole system is found rife with it. Corruption is obscured but reality in most of the governments. Thus, instead of implementing all orders enthusiastically, an officer shall take time to judge them for their legitimacy.

Additionally, few cases of human error may also occur if not of corruption. Questioning government mandates in-house before implementation can result in eradicating loop holes. Thus increasing the quality of the system. Take for example the housing loans of 2009 that beget recession. If the government's officials had bothered to take a look at these organizations providing housing loans to everybody, a myriad of public losses could have been prevented.

Moreover, docile officers are themselves problems and that too at vast levels. It is not always necessary that government department's actions are only for the benefit of its citizens. Take the recent event of NSA spying on communications of almost every citizens. If Mr. Snowden had not decided to blow the whistle, most of us would still remain in disbelief that government does not violate any laws.

However, this is not always possible, specially in few departments like military, national security agency and intelligence agencies. Instead the subordinates can be litigated for questioning the commanding officers orders. Even though, it is frequent that soldiers and agents are court-marshaled for their non-compliance. This suggests that independent of systems requirements one should always raise his voice if he finds that something is not the way it should be.

Conclusively, vigilance is advised for the people who work in departments which impact most on the public. Even a smallest account neglected can later on reveal itself as the biggest scandals.