We can learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Learning is inevitable, it does not depend on supporting or contradicting views more than it depends on learner's attitude. It is just a matter of time. If the facts are right than be it on contradictory side or supporting side, one will eventually get to know them, right then or may be later. For several reasons, it can be implied that learning is equal, independent of sides that people chose.

To begin with, one can always test the authenticity of acquired knowledge against the people who contradict what one believes. A discussion with people having opposing perspective, gives one insights on his own beliefs. Opponents tend to raise questions on fundamentals of your perspective and to answer those questions it is a requisite that you have a profound and clear understanding of what you are proclaiming. That is why, several government systems have the Right and Left wings. A strong opposition can elicit several flaws in any concept and sooner or later one will study and research for clearer understanding of those gaps.

Moreover, learning comes easy with those who share similar views. Discussion among people with same perspective is more amiable and it results in elaborating ones knowledge on topic of their interest. Experienced ones share their views while amateur ones develop deep understandings and ask questions. Take for an example, a discussion among team mates in any office. It is informative for those who are comparatively new and for seniors its helps to delineate what has to be done.

However, if the attitude of the person involved in discussion is limited to only winning the argument then the chance of him learning anything is zero. People often make senseless points under impression that they have the highest degree of knowledge. Under such cognition it is very difficult to learn, be it supporting views or opposing views, from any discussion.

Conclusively, as stated earlier learning depends on how people react to discussion with other peoples. One can be either introspective to edify and expand the horizons of knowleged or a gauche who gets nothing inside his head independent of perspective represented to them.