Many people believe that criminals should be imprisoned; others, however, say they should do unpaid work that is beneficial for the community. Do you agree and disagree? Give your opinion and relevant examples.

I will agree to the fact that criminals should be imprisoned as they have not behaved in a normal way during a particular instance and should be punished for that. But i would also like to say that prison or jails, as called in most of the countries should be renamed to correction facilities. Because, as someone has said, we have to kill the crime and not the criminal .!

In support of my above thought, i would like to quote an example set by a prison in my country, India. In one of the prison, the authorities had joined hands with a software company to train their inmates on computer and programming skills. The company designed a special curriculum for people of such age and mentality to help them in honing their skills and knowledge. The inmates that went through the curriculum were interviewed by the same company and were offered jobs accordingly. Such an exercise can help the prison-mates to think and act like a normal human being and lead a respectable life once they have completed their term in prison.

In addition to the above, the inmates should also be given a chance to complete their education, be it school or college, which they have left in-between. Education will help in changing their mindset which will further fuel their approach towards the society. This will help them in becoming a better human being.

In the end, i would like to say that man is God's superior creation. We have to preserve and nurture this creation of God to make this world a better place for living, irrespective of his or her past.