Air transport is increasingly used to export fruit and vegetables to countries where they cannot be grown or are out of season.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, fruits and vegetables used to be transferred by planes to nations, which they cannot be implanted or are out of season. It is often argued that export fruit and vegetables between countries have both advantages and disadvantages. This essay shows the positives and negatives sides of food crops which has been exported by air.

On the positive side, transporting goods such as fruit and vegetables by aeroplanes between countries, not only does give us the choice to eat a variety of fruits and vegetables from a different culture but also we can eat all types of crops any time of the year. For instance, about 10 years ago, in Egypt we could eat Watermelon at a few months only from June to July, but now we can find it in markets at any time of the year. Moreover, we can eat Indian fruits which are not available before in Egypt.

On the negative side, importing fruits and vegetables over a long distance by air from far countries lead to put some chemical material by exporting company to keep it fresh for a long time. In addition to that, it increases the taxes on goods; consequently, the prices of these items become high. In 2017, research from the World Health Organization showed that the chemical material was been put on crops during transporting it causes dangerous diseases such as cancer.

In conclusion, in this days and age, transporting fruits and vegetables by air has increased and it has a positive side which gives us the choice to eat many types of them which comes from different nations. but we should take care of its drawbacks which may affect our health.