All over the world, societies are facing a growing problem with obesity. This problem affects both children and adults. What are the reasons for this rise in obesity?

Nowadays, the number of people, who suffer from excessive weight, has grown dramatically throughout the world. Some dietitians claim that there are a great deal of reasons behind this issue. In this essay, I will consider the causes of this problem and propose some possible remedies.

Let us start by looking at the reasons why obesity is on the rise worldwide. One cause of this is high consumption of junk food. Take schoolchildren for example. Pupils tend to eat too much fast food, such as soda, hot dogs and hamburgers, so that they not only gain weight but also suffer from weight-related disorders. Another cause is shortage of movement. In other words, office workers can easily become overweight because they predominantly lead a sedentary lifestyle. After analyzing these reasons, it is clear why both growing population and adults are affected by obesity.

Nonetheless, some dietitians state that this difficulty can be tackled. They suggest the following steps to take. First of all, to address this problem, the authorities should levy taxes on unhealthy food. Children would prefer homemade food rather than fast food, since it would become overly expensive, and they can hardly afford it too frequently. Secondly, this problem could be solved by promoting sports and healthy food. What I mean by this is that people with obese would either go to the gym or do exercise outdoors to improve fitness, if the officials showed them the benefits of both sports lifestyle and a balanced diet. After considering these solutions, it is obvious that it is probable to solve this problem.

In conclusion, even though there are plenty of factors why so many people experience obesity, personally, I think that it is possible to deal with this health issue by adopting the above-mentioned measures.