Although many people value their public parks, this space could be better used for other purposes such as residential areas for the ever growing population or to develop business and boost economies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to urbanization and industrialization many public parks and playgrounds are being converted into factories or high rise apartments. Many value open spaces, however, they believe such constructions are essential to meet the ever rising housing demand as well as it boosts economies and aids in developing business. In my opinion, although modernization is imperative, it cannot be accomplished by posing a threat to the environment.

To begin with, in order to provide shelter to the constantly growing population, many forests have been wiped off, resources have been exhausted and water bodies have been reclaimed. Providing basic housing facilities has been given priority, without any consideration to the environment. Eventually, no amount of apartments will be sufficient to solve this concern as a result of inadequate land and the population will never cease to grow. To cite an example, many public parks have been sold to private builders who in turn monetize the situation by constructing skyscrapers. Consequently, causing an imbalance in the ecosystem.

Conversely, with public parks becoming more and more scarce these days, it is the duty of the government along with the general public to preserve the few remaining ones. There are a plethora of options to develop an economy without harming the environment. For instance, governments should mark certain areas as protected zones and should not pass tenders that intend to commercialize that land. Thus ensuring development is not achieved at the cost of causing grievance to the society at nature at large.

To recapitulate, it is extremely essential to keep in mind, to maintain a balance in nature while also focusing on progress. Likewise, it is absolutely indispensable for the government to enforce strict punishments and severe fines to those who instead of maintaining the park start construction on it.