It has been said, "Not everything that is learned is contained in books." Compare and contrast the knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why? Use specific reasons and example to

These days people have contradictory opinion regarding knowledge, where some argue that nothing can surpass the knowledge gained from books, while another school of thought opine that experience is the greatest teacher and not everything can be learnt from books. In my opinion, although reading can certainly develop your intellect, it cannot provide the solution to all problems and hence in this essay we shall discuss that life experience is vital.

To begin with, first and foremost the knowledge gained from text books are theoretical and cannot be applied practically. Circumstances may vary and sometimes the answers provided may not be applicable to the situation. Additionally, books portray an ideal scenario that may differ from the real world. To illustrate, many parental books advice parents to be gentle and talk to teenagers when they misbehave instead of being harsh. However, it is impossible to assume that children will always listen, and therefore, at time parents must use corporal punishment to enforce discipline.

Secondly, trial and error helps one to navigate in difficult times and find the most optimum solution. Many learn much more from their mistakes, rather than from books, as those lessons are deeply embedded in their minds. Lastly, every persons journey is different and cannot be compared to one another. Consequently, the one solution may not be applicable in all scenarios. For example, many books do not recommend formal education in order to be successful. While it maybe true for some, in the real world education is paramount and absolutely essential to sustain oneself.

To recapitulate, I believe, experience teaches you handle personal crises more effectively instead of relying on books. Even though some may resort to books in times of turmoil, knowledge gained from the ups and downs in life cannot be replaced.