As computers translate quickly and accurately, learning foreign languages is a waste of time?To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern times, due to the rapid advancement in technology it is possible to find solutions to every problem just by a click at your finger tips. Since, computers translate very fast and precise, many view learning a foreign language as unnecessary and time consuming. In my opinion, I completely disagree with the statement as relying on computers may not always be feasible and learning a new language strengthens your profile.

To begin with, most of the functions of computers and mobile phone heavily depend on internet. When visiting a foreign country where connectivity is poor, these devices are unable to perform a translation search, thus leaving the person helpless. Conversely, if a person is fluent in a foreign language, they can use it to their advantage and resolve their dilemma. Moreover, too much dependency on technology is not advisable and one should be prepared to avoid falling into unpleasant circumstance. For example, when on a holiday speaking the common tongue rather than using technology to translate, will help you interact with the natives better. Therefore, one must not solely depend on computers and only use them as a medium in case of a misunderstanding of certain words or pronunciation.

Furthermore, learning a new skill sheds better light on the resume. It makes finding employment easier as it portrays diversity. Those who possess the understanding of different languages are perceived to be ambitious and many times even given opportunities to work overseas. For example, many companies prefer hiring those who are bilingual because it helps to communicate with foreign clients. Although computers are convenient, they are not viewed to be useful when one wants to pursue a career abroad.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that learning a new language is advantageous. This skill helps elevate the resume and restricts over dependability on technology.