Some governments spend a lot of public money training up individuals to be successful in international sporting events. Some people believe that this money should be spent on things that will benefit the general public instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Olympics is one of the most famous sporting events in the world and many countries send their best to represent them. Some governments spend significantly huge amount of public money in training athletes to bag medals for the their countries. A school of thought opine that this is wasteful expenditure and instead the money should be spent in the interest of the general public. In my opinion, I completely agree with the latter and shall discuss the same in this essay.

First and foremost people pay a part of their earnings in the form of taxes with the hope that the government will use this money to provide them with better facilities such as subsidized healthcare, housing, etc. Using the this money to train individuals instead helping the people in need is unfair. Although, I agree that winning medals and recognition is a matter of pride for the country, it does not help resolve any existing pressing issues. Therefore, the well being of their citizens should be the focus of the Government. Spending tax payers money to train individuals to be successful in international sporting events seem pointless.

Likewise, practice and dedication and, not money, is required to be successful in sports. Many countries do not have the capacity to provide financial supports to their representatives. However, these countries end up winning the most. For instance, even though Brazil is a poor country, they always end up winning Gold in most of the events they participate. Thus, the aforementioned proves that investing money in training does not guarantee a win.

In conclusion, one should keep in mind that it is the people that make a country and not accolades and fame. Therefore, their happiness should be of paramount importance. Governments should spend their money wisely.