Some people believe the range of technology available to individuals today is increasing the gap between poor people and rich people. Others think it is having an opposite effect. Discuss these points of view. What is your opinion?

Currently people are exposed to a vast variety of technology and it is developing so rapidly, that an item purchased today becomes redundant tomorrow and will be replaced with something more unique and advanced. Some people are of the view that this variety of range is increasing the gap between the poor and rich while others are of an opposite opinion. This essay will discuss both perspectives and argue that technology is in fact bridging the gap between people of different strata of society.

To begin with, developing better technology involves high costs and the same is attached to the item which in turn is borne by whom? The final consumer! People who have money at their disposal prefer to indulge in such luxuries whereas those with limited financial capacity cannot afford to do so. To cite an example, the rich can choose from a number of cars available in the market to keep abreast with the latest technology, while the poor have to either use public transport or drive around in their car till it has to be scrapped. Therefore, technology mostly caters to people of high class as they are their target customers and very little is done keeping the poor in mind, consequently, increasing the gap.

On the contrary, nowadays there are a variety of affordable products available and one need not shell out huge amount of money to possess it. Modern technology is now striving to make products that are cheaper and easily accessible thus closing the gap. For example, cheaper mobiles like oppo contain similar features that are available in a high end phone like I-phone therefore making it possible for everyone to have an advanced mobile phone. Furthermore, due to cut throat competition these days, priority is given to developing cheap and easily available technology.

To sum it up, although in early time technology could not be afforded by everyone, constant efforts are now being made to change that. I strongly believe that technology brings people closer and keeping the current scenarios in mind people are willing to invest in better technology to lead a better life!