Many office authorities impose a restriction on smoking within the office premises. Some governments have even banned smoking in all public places. This is a good idea but it takes away some of our freedom.

These days smoking in work place has been banned by many offices. While some governments have gone to an extend of imposing a curfew on smoking in all public ares. Even though many view this as a positive initiative, another school of thought opine that it curtails freedom. This essay shall analyze my opinion that banning smoking is advantageous.

To begin with, smoking, whether done in excess or moderation, is harmful to health. Although, this is common knowledge and the ill effects of smoking have been heavily advertised many do not pay heed and instead turn a blind eye to it. Therefore, keeping the health of it's citizens in mind, the government needs to intervene. Secondly, continuous smoking can have serious repercussions and can even lead to life threatening diseases namely, cancer. Imposing a complete halt and heavy penalty will compel some, if not all,to discontinue smoking, thus encouraging healthy living.

Similarly, an office contains plethora of people, some of which do not smoke and detest the smell of cigarettes. They find it off putting and too strong and causes inconvenience. Some colleagues even experience headaches, consequently hampering their productivity at work. Furthermore, if the cigarette is not properly disposed off, it may be hazardous and compromise people safely. For example, there have been many instances of cigarettes being the root cause of fire at work place. In order to avoid any discomfort to the staff, banning smoking on office premises is absolutely imperative.

To recapitulate, undertaking an activity at the expense of causing discomfort to others, by no means is freedom. Imposing a ban on smoking is essential for the well being of the people and also to maintain a safe and inclusive environment where everyone can work and thrive in harmony.