Should wealthy nations be required to share their wealth and resources among poorer nations by providing such things as food and education? Or is it the responsibility of the governments of poorer nations to look after their citizen themselves?

Wealthy nations are getting richer and richer while the poor nations are sinking deep into poverty. These days the hotly debated concept of - "equality of wealth" is loosely used, and is not necessarily practiced by everyone. Although, not every nation can provide its citizen with high end luxuries, people deserve to be provided with basic facilities like food, water and education. This essay will discuss that it is the responsibility of all governments especially, wealthy nations to ensure that no person is deprived of these basic facilities.

To begin with, the primary responsibility of the government of poorer nations is to look after the health and well being of their citizens themselves. However, in case of a crisis or due to shortage of funds a call for help can be made to the wealthy nation. For instance, when multitudes of people in Africa resorted to eating mud as they were dying of starvation and malnutrition, wealthy nations likes America and Canada provided immediate aid. Along with providing clean drinking water and food; computer camps were set up and volunteers were flown to teach the children computer skills.

Nations blessed with abundance should not forget the downtrodden nations and should to share their resources among the less privileged. However, can the onus be entirely put on them? No! All governments are bound by duty to take care of the needs of their citizens. During wars people expect rich countries to welcome the refugees without considering the impact it will have on their economy and society at large. Therefore, wealthy nations should not be exploited for personal gains.

To conclude, keeping political differences and geographical boundaries aside, nations should ensure no one goes to bed on an empty stomach! I believe sharing of resources helps in bridging the gap and makes the world a better place to live in for everyone.