Cricket has become more popular than the national sports in the sub-continental countries.What do you think are the reasons behind this?

These days sports are increasingly gaining popularity as more and more people prefer learning it as a medium to stay fit and disciplined. However, cricket is slowly becoming one of the most widely played sports in the sub-continental countries even surpassing their national sports. Although, there are a plethora of reasons, in this essay we shall discuss the top two - it is very commercial and gender neutral.

To begin with, cricket has become a very commercial and they frequently have various tournaments. Cricketers namely Virat Kholi and MS Dhoni from the Indian team are given God like status and when they are playing, crowds flock to the stadium to witness the live matches or even watch it at home. Recently, the cricket match between India and Pakistan broke all records for the most views in the world. Increase in viewership helps the telecasting channel to monetize as well as the products advertised during intervals experience a spike in their sales.

Furthermore, cricket is gender unbiased and easy to play as one does not require very fancy equipment. Additionally, many sports centers are now mainly focusing on providing step by step training and guidance to women who are the major chunk of their students. To exemplify, when India's women cricket team won the World Cup many females were encouraged and inspired to play. Cricket is not considered a violent sports and hence can be comfortably played by all.

To summarize, I would like to recapitulate that irrespective of the popularity all sports should be given equal importance and publicity. While cricket is loved far and wide, national sports should not be forgotten.