Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. Why this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays many people, especially young adult resort to shopping in their spare time and consider it a form of relaxing activity. Two of the main reasons are online shopping and convenience. In my opinion, even though it is a medium for many to de-stress it causes wasteful expenditure and sometimes even leads to addiction.

To begin with, due to the internet boom, online shopping has made it very easy to shop at your convenience. In addition, many youngsters prefer ordering all their necessities from a single website rather than visiting multiple stores. Moreover, these shopping sites provide free delivery and cash backs along with enticing discounts to those who purchase in bulk, consequently encouraging people to buy more. To cite an example, initially Ikea used to witness the highest sales of furniture, now Amazon has overtaken that number as the offer free worldwide shipping and also free installation. Some like to indulge in their free time, for they believe shopping to be therapeutic.

Nonetheless, the major downside to mindless shopping is purchasing unnecessary items. These days shops slash the prices of old or poor quality goods and try to con the public on the pretext of sales. People flock in large number to these stores and many times than not end up spending on things they do't need. Furthermore, some are extremely addicted to shopping, that they go into utter despair if they miss out on a good bargain. All in all, it proves that if shopping is considered a leisure activity it causes more damage than good.

In conclusion, young adults should pick up a sport or spend some time developing a hobby instead of shopping. Rather than spending money on sales, the same can be saved or used in self development.