In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. What is your opinion?

These days due to the scarcity of space there has been a housing crunch and so, currently the only open spaces available for new construction, is in the countryside. While some opine that it is imperative to preserve the countryside and not construct new homes there, another school of thought have opposing view and believe construction is absolutely essential to eradicate housing problems. This essay shall express my opinion that countryside needs to be protected.

To begin with, due to the rapid increase in population, the demand for new homes will continue to rise. Building more houses because there is a demand, is not going to stabilize the situation. Furthermore, there is a dearth of open spaces in cities and the land available in countryside is our only access to fresh air and outdoor activities. For example, people from urban areas travel to the rural areas which, are comparatively quieter, to escape the stress and chaos of the city. Therefore, if open spaces are re-developed, man will have no place to de-stress.

Likewise, if the countryside is also turned into a concrete jungle, it will pose serious threats on our environment. There will be an imbalance in the ecosystem for, there will be an increase in pollution, lack of tress, drainage of natural resources, etc. Furthermore, most of out livelihood depends on the activities conducted in countryside. For instance, if farm lands are used for construction, there will be an acute shortage of food. As a result, compromising our open spaces to tackle housing problems will have serious repercussions.

In conclusion, is catering to new homes at the cost of open spaces advisable? Probably not! I believe, while the short term housing issues may be resolved, long term problems on the environment and quality of life is irrevocable.