Wealthy countries should accept more refugees and provide them with basic assistance such as food and housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

it is often argued that developed countries should not only open their doors to those seeking asylum but, also assist them with basic human necessities like food and shelter. this essay completely disagrees with this statement because this will cause overcrowding and pose a stress on the resources.

To begin with, first world countries are already struggling with over population as people, who want a better standard of living, move there on the pretext of jobs or studies. these countries are finding ways to curb the increasing number of residents and accepting refugees will only add to this existing problem. According to a recent article, Germany refused entry to millions of refugees, who were at their border, as were afraid it would lead to a huge spike in population.

Another reason is that it will put a strain on the resources. In other words, big countries are facing a huge scarcity of houses, unemployment, poverty, etc. and these concerns need to be addressed on priority. In such a scenario, it is definitely unfair to accept those who have been displaced from their homes if the government is unable to meet their basic requirements. For example, the USA has put a halt on the inflow of people and is now concentrating on the betterment of their citizens. However, some people desperately need to move out due to violence and terrorism and countries which have the means should make an exception for them on humanitarian grounds.

In conclusion, wealthy nations are swarmed with people and are at a risk of draining their resources and hence must not allow refugees.