Paying all workers the same salary in a company promotes harmony and respect amongst colleagues To what extent do you agree or disagree

These days many argue that in order for employees to be able to co-exist peacefully, an organization should pay all workers a similar wage. While another school of thought opine that adopting such a system may not be advantageous. This essay I shall express my opinion that I completely disagree with the notion that equally pay equate harmony and respect amongst colleagues.

To begin with, salaries is one of the driving factors for employees to not only increase their quantity but also concentrate on quality like minimizing errors. If all are paid the same wage, it will have a detrimental effect on an individual's productivity. Moreover, the knowledge of being rewarded for your hard-work in monetary form namely, pay hike, performance incentives and bonus motivates workers to excel. For instance, employees were more enthusiastic in organizations where salaries were depended on performance whereas those who were paid the same wage worked with monotonously to complete the task and lacked enthusiasm. Therefore, being compensated in accordance to the work done creates peace and harmony in a office.

Likewise, salary should be kept confidential, but if everyone is working at the same pay level in may create animosity among colleagues. This is because a person who is 100% utilized is being paid the same as opposed to the one who is 50% utilized. Consequently, resulting in lack of respect towards co-workers and decrease in competition. For example, according to a recent survey, people preferred working in a multi-national company that promoted healthy competition rather than working in a factory which was not competitive in terms of salary.

To recapitulate, the disadvantages of compensating all workers the same outweigh the advantages. In my view, employees perform better when they are challenged and believe that being paid fair according to their output and utilization.