The amount of garbage produced by our cities is a big problem for governments around the world. How can this problem be fixed?

Nowadays, waste generation is increasing uncontrollably. Around the globe, governments are finding it difficult to manage and solve the issues generated by rubbish. In my opinion, use of degradable items and better waste management are the main solutions for controlling the garbage.

To begin with, useless items can be controlled by efficiently selecting materials for its manufacture. It means that, the items that seems to be a waste in future needs to be manufactured with degradable and reusable items. For this, companies should take initiatives, such as the use of paper bags and other eco-friendly stuffs to produce the aforementioned items. By doing this, waste accumulation will gradually reduce because, even if they settle, they will be degraded. For instance, studies done by Cochin University reveals that, about 30% of earthworms are getting died every year due to the presence of underground plastic, thereby effective nitrification and digestion of waste is reduced. So, it is advisable to use eco-friendly raw materials for mass production to avoid waste accumulation.

Secondly, policy makers should introduce better waste management system throughout the cities for the effective management of the same. As an initiative, they should conduct several seminars and classes to create awareness on the dangerous issues hidden behind the garbage, thereby developing certain rules, such as, strict use of less micron plastic and fines for those who violates the same, by which authorities can confirm better implementation of laws. Furthermore, officials can consider installing separate cans for collecting recyclable and non-recyclable wastes. Thus, above-mentioned ways should be implemented for better management of wastes.

In summary, waste generation is a never-ending issue, which needs to be tackled by wise selection of degradable materials for manufacturing along with the introduction of planned waste management systems.