Artists need a certain amount of freedom to develop their creativity. Some people think that artists should have total freedom to express any thoughts and ideas. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Art is considered an essential part of the culture throughout the world. Artist’s requires freedom to express their thoughts and imagination. Some individuals believe that given a full imaginative freedom brings great benefits on their work of arts. In my opinion, artists should have enough liberty in creativity instead of total freedom to release their emotions.

On one hand, an artist if given liberty would definitely come up with imaginative and creative idea. Through his imagination he not only creates awareness of all the social evil going around in the society but also helps to educate the masses too. For example, in the recent rape case of a minor, the accused was set free. It was because of various singers and actors that go together and came up with various songs and short film. This in turn put pressure on the government and brought the accused to justice. Similarly, artist through various painting on the wall not only add beautification to the place but also provides message for the community at large. For example, artist through various songs and painting portrayed the awareness for saving the girl child. This has brought awareness and thus created a change in people mentality.

On the other hand, giving too much liberty to the artist would definitely lead to its misuse. There are many instances many film have various vulgar content which is not appropriate for children. The sensor board does take necessary action to make the content appropriate for viewing. Similarly, if an artist is given full liberty, he would create drawing or painting that would hurt the sentiments of a community. For example, in recent instance the famous artist M.F. Hussain had drawn a picture of a goddess in an inappropriate dress. This stirred a communal violence, as it hurt the sentiment of a particular religion. Therefore, to avoid communal violence artist need to have limited freedom.

To conclude, for the artist to be productive, certain freedom needs to be given to the artist. However, too much liberty if given will result in misuse of the talent. Therefore, in my opinion freedom needs to be given, provided that their works are closely monitored for the betterment of the society.