In many countries plastic bags are the main source of rubbish causing pollution in oceans and on land; therefore they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Plastic bag forms a major cause for the pollution. Some people are of the opinion that plastic product like plastic bags needs to be prohibited as it pollutes the environment. This essay will discuss how plastic is dangerous and why it should be restricted.

In recent time, the use of plastic has increased enormously. Because it is cheap and has unique properties people tend to purchase plastic product on a large scale. Manufacturers also find it profitable to make products out of plastic rather than other materials. Plastic can be easily molded into various shapes making it ideal for products like furniture, bottles and utensils. Earlier glass bottles were used for containing consumable liquids like milk, aerated drinks and medicinal syrup. However glass being fragile, would easily break during transport and handling. Plastic on the other hand being durable and cheap soon replaced glass bottle and made transporting and handling easier. Therefore plastic soon was an alternative for glass as glass being fragile would easily break and was also expensive. Similarly plastic being ductile and malleable, plastic bags and ropes are being used instead of cloth bag and ropes.

Plastic has several advantages and if not disposed of properly would pollute the environment. Since ages scientist are working on ways to recycle plastic in an effective manner. Plastic tend to harm the environment due to its non-degradable nature. Disposing plastic in the ocean not only affect the marine life but also impacts the water making it hostile for marine life. Sea creatures accidentally swallow plastic debris which results in death due to choking. Similarly many people have the tendency to feed animal in plastic bag. These animals unknowingly along with the food chew the plastic bag thus making them sick. Eventually they die due to indigestion. Liquid stored in plastic bottles for days can be dangerous to consume due to the slow reaction with plastic. To curb the environment issue due to plastic people needs to aware of the damage the plastic is doing on the environment and how one needs to take precaution in disposing this material.

To conclude though plastic has enormous advantage, if not disposed of in a proper way would result in damaging the environment. However I think that putting a ban on plastic is not a solution. Educating people and minimizing the use will be the best option.