Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'.

How true do you think this statement is?

What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars??

Thanks to advancements in technology, leading to reduction in the cost of vehicles, many people in our societies now own cars. This phenomenon that started three decades ago, has seen our roads flooded with cars, and the consequence is an ever increasing traffic jam. To solve this problem, our government can take a number of approaches to dissuade the use of personal motors.

One way to discourage the use of personal automobiles is to encourage the use of public transportation. Government can achieve this by reducing the cost of the tickets and by creation of more bus stops. Our public transport systems today, are very expensive to commute with. It is far cheaper for one to go to work with his own car than take the available public buses. Also, commuters will be happy to see that the public buses will stop them very close to their destinations. The bus stops we have currently are not properly planned. For example, the nearest bus stop to my office is about one kilometer away. It implies that if I have to use public transport to go to work, I will have to trek a long distance from the bus stop to my office. However, if more parks are built and these gaps are closed up to within one hundred meters, many people will be encouraged to join the mass transit buses.

Another way to discourage the use of personal cars is by imposing some taxes on vehicles that are on the roads. In Lagos State for example, what the state did was to build toll gates and to pass through it, each vehicle is required to pay a certain amount. They also introduced car-use levies that each motor is expected to pay on monthly basis, as long as they want to run on the roads for that month. These fees made the use of individual cars very expensive and people avoided them. As a result, our roads became free from long stationary queues of vehicles.

In conclusion, it will be nice to see the problems traffic jams on our roads solved. Our leaders can achieve this by making public transportation appealing to the masses and by imposing some levies on the use of personal cars.