Children are facing more pressures nowadays from academic, social and commercial perspectives. What are the causes of these pressures and what measures should be taken to reduce these pressures?

Youngsters are facing tremendous pressures these days. They are expected to excel in their studies and in extracurricular activities. They are also required to have a brilliant career when they grow up.

To begin with, many surveys throughout the countries show that parental pressure is the number one cause of stress. The main reason for this is because they want their children to be super achievers. Consequently, children hardly find time to play or socialize. Therefore, they spend much of a day in schools and in coaching centers, and afterward that they attend music, drawing and sports lesions. Moreover, it is required from their teachers to stay alert in the class and score excellent grades although they might be exhausted.

On the other hand, other studies have revealed that too much pressure and stress can affect their emotional, physical and intellectual development. For this reason, it is advised that parents should not expect too much from their children because they are setting their self for disappointment and failure. Instead, they should have realistic goals and ambitions. Time management is equally important. They should spend their energy only on those things that truly matters. For instance, a child who have no real talent for singing should not be attending music lessons. Likewise, children that are not sporty should be allowed to skip sport practices. They can use time thus in other activities they are interested in.

In conclusion, the gap between reality and expectations is the real cause of pressure for children. It is important to shield them from unwanted pressure. Both parents and teachers can make life less stressful for children by setting realistic goals for them.