Children nowadays are not healthy and fit as the past generation children. What might be the reasons? How can it be solved?

There are many reasons why our kids are not as healthy and as fit as we were in our childhood. Children today lead a sedentary lifestyle. They spend a great deal of time watching TV and playing video games. They also have to deal with tremendous academic pressure. Many of them attend the private coaching classes after regular school hours. The truth is that most children do not get an opportunity or time to engage in the physical activities.

Being physical active is absolutely essential for being fit. Now most households have computer and internet connections. Children as young as three or four spend hours playing games on their parents’ computer and smartphones. At an age when they should be running all over the place. As a result, they become couch potatoes. This stunts their physical growth.

Another reason for the health problem among young children is the excessive consumption of junk food.In many families both parents work. They do not get enough time to cook proper meals for their children, To compensate for that they stuff their fridge with the junk items. Therefore; excessive consumption of junk food leads to obesity which in turn will further reduce their inclination to play. Moreover, Junk food is not nutritive. It merely provides energy. If children do not get nutritious food , they will not grow into healthy adults.

Providing ample opportunities to engage in outdoor activities is absolutely essential to solve this problem. Parents should make sure that their children do not spend more than one to two hours a day in front of TV or computer. Schools, too, have an important role to play.They must make physical activities an important part of the curriculum. Extra marks should be awarded to those who perform well in sports.