The cost of international travel is decreasing and tourism is increasing in many countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of the rising trend of tourism for countries?

It is true that the cost of travelling overseas has become cheaper these days and it has boosted the tourism industry in many countries. The growth in the tourism sector has its own benefits and drawbacks and the following essay will discuss them in details.

For a number of reasons, the development of the tourism industry brings a lot of benefits for many nations. Firstly, it creates a lot of job opportunities for the local people. As many hotels and restaurants are built along the tourist attraction places, they absorb many local employments and reduce the unemployment rate. Secondly, the development will also increase the country's income. As the number of tourists from the overseas increase, they spend some money in hotels and restaurants and these transactions are subjected to tax.

On the other hand, the growth of this industry also brings some negative effects to the country. As more tourists are coming to the country, more tourist attraction places are then built. Many of these places are made on natural conservation areas, whereas some wild animals would lose their natural habitat and bring negative impact to the ecosystem as well. And then some tourists also bring negative behaviours that affect to the local culture. For example, in some Asian countries, the people might not drink alcoholic beverages. However, as many westerners come to these countries and bring some liquor, many the local people are introduced to the beverage and started to drink alcohol as well.

In conclusion, it is true the growing trend of the tourism industry has a lot benefits for many countries. However, it should be noted that it also bring some negative effects to these countries. I personally believe that it is the government task to make some clear regulations for the tourism sectors, therefore all the positive sides of the industry outweighed the drawbacks.