Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport Why is it not popular in many places And how to increase its popularity

It is obvious that commuting via bike is more eco-friendly than other private vehicles. However, this means of transport is still gain less popularity. There are a number of reasons behind this point of views and several solutions should be proposed to make the bicycle a more popular means of transport.

There are a variety of reasons why commuters are less likely to use bicycles. One reason is that it is generally less convenient for journeys by cycling than travelling by car or motor. Nowadays, almost all people have busy and stressful lives and they are always in a hurry whereas bicycle takes them a lot of time to move from their house to workplace or school and return. In addition, they might be as wet as a drowned rat due to/ because of perspiration or precipitation if they come to the workplace by bike. Another reason for the unpopularity of bike stems from the anxiety about traffic accidents due to the rising volume of various vehicles. In big cities, the population is too crowded and traffic congestion occurs daily, so it is difficult to create a private lane for cycling. Therefore, others vehicles being on the same road such as cars, trucks, motors pose an imminent threat to the security of cyclist.

However, measures should be taken by governments and employers to increase the number of people using bikes to travel. Firstly, the government should raise citizens’ awareness of benefits of cycling through various media campaigns. Besides, factories or offices should provide changing facilities and hot shower for employees arriving wet by bike. Furthermore, authorities may discourage motorists from using their cars or motorbikes by imposing congestion charges that would help to reduce the volume of vehicles circulating on roads, then more cycle lanes would be constructed. As a result, these will keep cyclists safer and speed up their journey times.

In conclusion, it seems to me that prominently presented causes and solutions above would make the increase of cyclists be possible, especially for short trips.