Despite improvements in vehicle technology, there are still large numbers of road accidents. Explain some of the causes of these accidents and suggest some measures that could be taken to address the problem.

With the advent of technology, advancements in the space of automobile and transportation has grown tenfolds. Although these developments have improved the standards of safety, one can not see a drastic decline in the number of vehicle accidents. This essay will elaborate on the significant reasons of this issue and suggest few viable solutions to resolve this situation.

Automobile companies are investing a large part of their budgets in improving the ways they can protect the drivers, however, there are some major reasons why they are are not successful. The predominant one is that the individuals driving the vehicle are not following the traffic rules properly. A case in point is the study of the drivers in India, unless there is a traffic police inspecting the drivers, they prefer not to wear their seat belts. Another serious cause is the mobile phone usage while driving and this has been a major concern by the government for years. People nowadays are either talking on their phones or texting while on the wheel. This results in to not focusing on the road and they can end up running into other cars.

On the other hand, however, there are some possible ways, if incorporated, can help reduce this number. To start with government can come out with stronger punishments if the rules are not followed by the citizens. In mMumbai, for instance, the authorities tried this by increasing the amount charged for not following the traffic rules, there was a sudden decline in the number of offenders. Additionally, the government can also have tougher examination and evaluation before handing over the permit to drive their own vehicle. This will, moreover, encourage them to study the rules and regulations better to make sure they pass the test and get their license.

In conclusion, since there is a manual intervention when it comes to driving, there needs to be stronger focus on educating the drivers along with improving the safety standards.