In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

Throughout the world, and more so in the developed countries, people are living for a much longer time than they were merely half a century ago, largely owing to the advancement in medicine and public healthcare. Although we have achieved the longest life expectancy rates in the history of mankind, it is imperative that we prepare ourselves fro dealing with the negative repercussions that this phenomenon is going to unleash on us in the near future. This essay will shed some light on these problems and also give recommendations to tackle the same.

Increasing life expectancy is directly associated with the increase in population size as well as inflated healthcare costs. More and more people are living a longer life - with this comes the increased incidence of healthcare problems that are accompanied by advanced age which, in turn, has a proportional relationship with the burden of healthcare on the society at large. Another mjor impact of rising life expectancy is on the ever-increasing population size, such that the future holds for us a nightmarish increase in the demand for food as well as space to live. This will only decrease agricultural land and push for deforestation in its wake in order to meet the demand for food production.

A few concrete measures come to mind to help us brace for the impact, namely, vertical planning and improvement of local industry. Vertical farming is an alternative to conventional agriculture.