Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of high school students having part-time jobs.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It has been noticed for quite a few years that secondary school students are doing some part-time jobs parallel with their high school education. However, there are some benefits of working at an early age, such as, paying tuition fees at their own, and taking care of their personal expenses. Despite some advantages of working at a very young age, there are some drawbacks of it as well, for instance, distraction among teenagers while studying, and waste their study time while doing a temporary job.

To begin with, they are able to pay their tuition fees if they do some kind of temporary jobs during their academic studies. Paying semester fees could help them to gain some confidence while studying. For example, many teenagers earn well to pay their tuition fees and feel confident while studying at secondary schools. In addition, students are able to bear their personal expenses by doing some part-time jobs at an early age. A high school student, for instance, has many other personal expenses like transport-related fees, and food-related expenses. Thus, it could be helpful for high school students in paying their education fees and other personal expenses.

On the other hand, there are some disadvantages to doing half-time jobs, which could have some detrimental effects on students. Firstly, they are distracted from studying their regular subjects because they focus more on earn money from temporary jobs. For illustrate, teenagers have to depend on their parents for money, but if they start earning themselves then they will spend more extra activities such as playing games rather than on education. Secondly, they will spend more time on doing these temporary jobs rather than studying their academic subjects. For instance, usually high school students have to attend their school lectures in the day time and mostly study in the evening time or at night. But, they start doing jobs then they would waste their precious study time in earning money.

To sum up, many high school students are involved in temporary jobs while studying their academic subjects, which leads to many benefits such as, they are able to pay their semester fees, and able to bear their personal expenses. On the opposite side, there are some negative effects as well, such as student waste their precious study time on doing part-time jobs, and employment at a young age creates distraction among teenagers.