Distance learning programmes are in trend. However, people think that this is a poor substitute for attending a university or college. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Education plays a vital role in the development of an individual or society as a whole. In recent times, distance education has gained a popularity among mass and many argue that it is not as reliable as going to college or university and consider it as a poor substitute. I hold a diplomatic view for the given notion and this essay tends to delve into both the perspectives.

On the one hand, distance education is ideal for working people who can not go to college to attend regular classes. Moreover, full-time study is unaffordable for many in that case distance education is a viable option as it is economical in cost. Additionally, for housewifes, it is easy to pursue higher education as it provides flexibility of time to tutees. On top of this, many elite universities are offering degrees in distance education programme and curriculum is designed very efficiently to impart value to students.

On the other hand, many people opt for distance education merely for the sake of getting a degree without much effort. Some universities and colleges provide these degrees and students do not need to study much and exams are passed with the use of unfair means. These kinds of activities questions the credibility of distance education system. Secondly, critics argue the efficiency of distance learning. As full-time education gives more exposure to students it is considered the best way of getting the education and developing skills in contrast with distance learning where students study on their own.

Contemplating all my views, I pen down by asserting that distance education is a very good opportunity for those who want to enhance their skills and qualification, provided right university or college is chosen.