Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? A zoo has no useful purpose. Use specific reasons and examples to explain your answer.

Essay topics

These days many animal species, especially the rare one's are kept in zoo's. But what is the purpose of removing them from their natural habitat? Currently, one of the hotly debated topic is that - "a zoo has no useful aim". While, some may agree, I am completely against this school of though and believe zoo's serve a very important purpose of protecting animals as well as educating human beings.

To begin with, due to an increasing in the number of animals being poached, many have gone extinct, while some are on the verge of disappearing. Keeping animals in the zoo ensures that they are well maintained and properly looked after. To cite an example, long time ago panda's were under the danger of disappearing, however, in the last decade zoo's all over the world volunteered to adopt them and provide them with shelter and medical aid to help them procreate consequently increasing their numbers.

Furthermore, zoo's also educate the general public about wildlife and encourage them to contribute their bit in saving the environment. Animals and birds are trained to perform harmless tricks and also deliver important messages. For instance, in Singapore zoo some trash is thrown in a tub filled with water and a trained seal removes it and segregates bio-degradable waste from the non bio-degradable one's, thus, not only making it entertaining but also informational. Moreover, a sense of awareness is developed in the minds of the audience.

To summarize, I would like to reiterate that up until now zoo's have been a major contributor of protecting the lives of millions of animals. If they were left in the wild their population would be alarmingly low. Environmentalists are running pillar to post to safeguard more and more species in zoo's so that the future generations can live and learn from them.