Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business bring about the death of local communities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Two days ago, I read an article about the quick sprawl of shopping centers in Karaganda region. The author claimed that this spread drives individual entrepreneurs to terminate their activity in the local market. This leads one to wonder whether this stop may have a deadly effect on society. This essay disagrees with this point of view for the following reasons.

The first reason is that supermarkets provide local citizens with employment. The closure of private business may leave many inhabitants out of work, but malls may offer a great deal of jobs. Since they need workers both to maintain their department stores and deliver products to them on a regular basis, local people would feel little need to leave the area for a job. For example, many people, in Karaganda city, abandoned their decision to relocate due to the growing unemployment, once supermarkets, which replaced small business in the region, hired them as accountants, sellers, porters and security guards.

Another reason why domestic community can survive regardless of local business being destroyed by trading centers is the indirect connection between the destruction of compact business as well as local society. Even though local entrepreneurs cease their business, society will remain since it is also connected by other aspects of life, such as its traditions, customs, language, and history. For example, in Karaganda city, even though multinational companies eliminated their rivals in 2002, regional congregations have neither faded nor decreased in size as well.

However, some sociologists state that society will disappear after the small business. The main reason for this opinion is that the loss of local companies will result in a sharp rise in idleness. Joblessness may force many people to seek jobs in other cities. Despite this, supermarkets will be able to employ all jobless people in the region to discourage from abandoning the region.

In conclusion, after analyzing, it is clear that although the widespread of shopping malls may cause local business to quit the market, there is no need for people to worry about community because occupation is secured by shopping centers and. Furthermore, the link between business and society is insignificant.