Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business bring about the death of local communities.To what extent do you agree o

Supermarkets have broken the grounds of local markets in the many countries. Though there are disadvantages for local vendors as most of the people would like to visit supermarkets, as they can get all the requirements from single place. Shutting down of local business due to supermarkets is one of the possibilities, which we will be discussing in this essay below.

Supermarkets have grown immensely in last decade, as it has proved to be a boon for the people with busy work schedule. It becomes so easy for the people to buy everything from one stop such as your daily needs like toothbrush, food packets, groceries, toiletries, and even furniture are available at one place.

As these markets have everything needed, it's easy for people to make a list for every week or for a month, and get their required things in one go. They don't have to go to different places to get what they need. This could save them much of their time. Also many supermarkets offers different discount routinely and also additional discount during festivals. This is something that people are more attracted too.

On the other hand the local stores or shops, they provided very limited number of items. Also, they do not provide much of discounts. In order to achieve pull business, they need to come up with better discounts and more products policies. So that customer can get most of their items from one place, also attractive discounts can help in increasing the sale

So in conclusion, if the shopkeeper or store manager do not use the marketing gimmick like discounts or other offers to attract people and keeping varieties of goods, there are fair chances for the local stores to loose their customer and may need to be shut down in next few decades.