Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business bring about the death of local communities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today, the global establishment of supermarkets is killing small stores. Some argue that when local sellers and dealers close their businesses, the communities in that area will also die subsequently. this essay agrees to this statement because there are fewer jobs available for local residents and people cannot afford the higher price of products sold in supermarkets.

people will leave their own communities because of the scarcity of job vacancies. this is to say that local businesses provide the most job positions to the people in the area. Therefore, closing these small stores will cause residents to have less chance to secure a job. Furthermore, most supermarkets are now operated automatically with the help of robots; thus, human force is not needed in these places either. For example, many people in Binh Duong province in Vietnam had to migrate to other cities since family businesses were not able to compete with the big C markets and people became unemployed for months.

Another reason is that, even though the supply of goods from supermarkets is plenty, the products selling in these big malls are usually overpriced and out of reach for the local residents. As people cannot afford to purchase from these malls on a daily basis, a better option for them is to relocate and leave their homes behind. As a consequence, only a little number of the elderly stay and local communities become dead. For instance, a survey in Ben Tre indicated that the majority of the local population left this village because they could not find an inexpensive goods supplier and they could not afford supermarket prices either.

In conclusion, the closure of small businesses due to the competition of the large ones also kills the local communities because people can hardly find any jobs and they cannot afford to buy goods in supermarkets.