Many people are now opting to provide technology companies with their personal data

in exchange for access to software.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

More and more people choose to give their personal information to technology enterprises in order to gain access to software programs in return. This essay believes the advantages of this tendency do not outweigh its drawbacks. This essay will demonstrate that, although users will have a better experience with improved software, they will have their private information fully exposed.

Companies will be able to provide computer users with fully developed software platforms, which enhance their experiences, when people opt to give out information. This is to say that personal data, such as locations, hobbies and shopping routines, will allow software developers to configure and tune their products according to users’ preferences. This will then save a lot of time as well as bring convenience to people while browsing for what they want. For example, Snapchat and Instagram suggest new friends by using people’s names, mutual colleagues and acquaintances so users do not have to waste time searching. However, people can just pay more money to developers to gain access to premium products.

A huge drawback for giving out personal data is that credentials and information of people can be used for advertising purposes without their notice and consent. This is because companies cannot make enough profits for selling software, and thus, they have to mostly rely on money from advertising to support their growth. For instance, the managers of Facebook publicly admitted that they sold their network users’ information to advertisement companies and entrepreneurs to turn profits. This is seriously dangerous because private information will be exposed to potential criminals online and used for illegal purposes.

In conclusion, the fact that companies can improve their products when people agree to submit their personal data, information of these software users can be used for advertising and even committing crimes.