During last twenty years, the assessment of students has undergone a major transformation. Many educational institutions have shifted their focus from traditional examination towards a variety of innovative assessment techniques, as they believe traditional examination results are not often true to student’s ability.

For more than a century, traditional examination to assess student’s ability was in place and this is still in use in many parts of the world. However, a more suitable and modern approach has been adopted by many schools and this is often regarded as a better technique to evaluate a pupil’s learning ability and knowledge. I personally believe that innovative modern assessment technique is more suitable.

To begin with, conventional exam system has a big flaw and this makes it very difficult to evaluate the true knowledge of a pupil. For instance, in conventional paper-based exam system, students can memorise answers to a few questions and pass the exam with a good grade. Someone with little knowledge on a subject can get a higher grade by memorising answers. On the contrary, the innovative approaches like group assignments, sudden quiz, hands-on tests etc. can reflect the actual level of student’s learning. This is why many educational institutions are shifting towards theses assessment tests from the traditional exam system and I really believe that this will, in the future, become the main evaluation technique.

Moreover, paper-based exam system allows students to cheat the exam and pass it without even studying hard. On the contrary, a student would not be able to pass a hands-on test or an open-book exam where he needs to propose a solution to a problem rather than writing answers from books. From my experience, I can tell that I had to study more to pass the sudden class tests than my term-finals as I had no clue what teachers would assess on these sudden tests. Many schools have already introduced few innovative assessment techniques due to their experience from the traditional tests and its limitations. The latest methods are in place because they are more suitable.

To conclude, the right technique to evaluate students is an important issue and no stone should be unturned to introduce the most effective way of doing it. Something is missing in the conventional exam system and I believe this is where the modern methods of evaluating fit in.