Education used to be a short period of training, but today, people treat it like a lifelong practice. Do you agree or disagree?

The ever-changing nature of the modern, knowledge-based societies of the 21st century has led to prolonged education period, formerly a limited period to earn qualifications for a profession. This lifelong quest of knowledge is a ramification of the unprecedented development in science and technology, hence it is inevitable to my perception.

The change in the trend of training in most modern societies is clearly observed yet not appreciated wholeheartedly. Due to the long time, sometimes a lifetime, allocated to training, many people seem hesitant to approve of this new fashion. They argue that the time could be spent on others aspects of life such as quality family time and leisure time. Moreover, the pressure and the tension imposed on an individual, an inevitable byproduct of learning process, is a serious drawback, making it even less popular in the eyes of some people.

On the other hand, living in a modern society requires certain alterations, constant training being of the most significant ones. In a modern community citizens are defined by their careers to a great extent. Therefore, anyone who is interested in gaining a better position, needs to make sure that he is on the path to improvement. Of course, it cannot be denied that a more successful and satisfying occupation leads to a life with higher standards and better quality. Moreover, there is more to learning and training than mere promotions. Human mind needs to be stimulated constantly to reach its maximum potential. No matter how challenging a training course appears to the learners, the goal of triggering the brain is achieved during a learning process. There is ample scientific evidence to approve the fact that learning new things helps one to keep an open mind. Not only will an individual enjoy the benefits of the acquired knowledge and hands-on skills, but also will take advantage of the learning methods, problem solving strategies and lateral thinking which are gained through the process.

Considering the discussed points, it is fair to say that the benefits of lifelong trainings are far more remarkable that the few challenges on the way. Living in a modern society requires adapting to the new conditions and sticking to unbending conventional ideas is neither helpful nor possible.