Employer sometimes ask people apply for jobs personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

There is no doubt that employers ask many questions to people who apply for a job. However, while some believe that personal questions should not be asked as it is not useful or relevant, I would argue with those who consider this strategy as a valid part of interview process.

Firstly, many people would not like to share private and confidential information to unknown people. Such people make sure that they disclose only abstract information when they appear in an interview. For example, if questions are related to their leisure activity or relationship status, they would like to avoid or give false information. The argument goes that if employers focus on what can directly help with the job responsibilities, the interview process will be more to the point and will help to attract more candidates.

However, I believe that employers just follow a popular strategy that helps them to choose the right candidate fora post in their organisation. In fact, whatever they ask in the interview is not personal at extreme level. For instance, questions about friends or weekend plan of a person will never be a part of the interview that is conducted for the post of software engineer. Nevertheless, hobbies and interest can definitely be the topic in the test. This is probably because the employer wabts to check whether a person will be able to mix up with other employees or not.

In conclusion, although some candidates do not like to answer personal questions while applying for a job, I feel that there is nothing to disrespect the privacy and it is a valid approach.