Employers should pay young people the same salary as older colleagues doing the same job To what extend do you agree or disagree

Salary is the most important factor to be taken care of while choosing a job and any kind of dissatisfaction in it leads to a great loss for both the company and for a candidate. Where ”whether salary for all the employees should be the same or not” is one of the debatable topics of this decade. The essay demure the suggestion. Though there are ample reasons behind it, this essay will discuss ”knowledge and its costing” along with ”awareness” as two essential reasons.

To embark, undoubtedly, the young generation is way more knowledgeable in comparison, as earlier the studies were on broader aspects however now the young generation is smart enough to hone their knowledge in a particular field only. Not to forget, the aforementioned knowledge requires lots of money also. For example:- earlier, the cost of pursuing MBA from one of the top 100 colleges used to be around 10 lakh is now hiked up to 30 lakh. Therefore, salaries should be paid on the basis of their skills and not on the basis of equality.

Moreover, this generation is more into technology than people were a decade back. Such awareness towards technology makes them more competent. For example- Oxford research 2014, started technology related issues are handled more smartly by people ageing 25-32, as this age is more of risk-taking. Therefore, such awareness and quality should be paid accordingly and not on the basis of the one who wants to play safe.

To recapitulate, salaries should be determined by taking various factors like their knowledge and its costing, awareness towards work etc. into consideration and not by what other people in the same organisation are getting.