Employers sometimes ask peoples applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both views

Normally a job seek would not reveal personal information in a resume when applying for a job; however, some employers may enquary details such as hobbies, specialities and marrital status. Some people think this is acceptable to prompt private information; whereas, others reject this action. Personally, I agree with the latter approach.

Some people believe the reason that human resource managers request for personal information in resume is because it it essential and useful for deciding a potential employee from numerous candidates. The exployer may deem a specific personality is suitable for the job according to the hobbies of candidates. In addition, a employer may prefer single person than married people. For example, a company in China recruits only single female for secritery. Nonetheless, I oppose the approach that companies hire employees in accordance with its perference on hobbies and marrital status, which is irrelevant to work.

Indeed, asking peosonal information in curriculum vitae is a violation of privacy. The sole requirement for a job is qualification and personal information is relevant to it. As a matter of fact, law prohibits employers to request peosonal information from personnels. Besides, offering a job according to personal information would produce bias in the process, which is detrimental for a fair environment. Therefore, a majority of people disagree with the request of personal information, not only for the protection of privacy but also for maintain a healthy employment environment.

To summarize, I believe it is illegal for employers to ask personal information from employees or job seekers. Rejection to this request is reasonable and this behavior will protect the right of employees.