Every country should have a free health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Getting affordable medical services throughout their region is a concern for the majority of the countries around the globe. While there is one school of thought which advocates for free health services for all, another argues that it would limit the availability of the latest diagnostics at affordable price. This essay would however discuss how there is a need to strike a balance while devising healthcare-related schemes.

In many developing nations, the majority of the population cannot even afford simple treatments for common ailments. In this case, free healthcare for sicknesses involving simple procedures and treatments makes more sense. This is mainly because of the lack of resources for income and unhealthy living conditions. For example, in my city, there was a big slum near my building where people were staying in deplorable conditions and hence were victims of many easily avoidable diseases. Therefore, it becomes very logical for the authority to provide free healthcare facilities in these regions.

On the other hand, people in developed countries or big cities usually need assistance with complex treatments which are very costly. So, if free medical services are provided in these regions but the latest treatments are excluded from them then it might become counterproductive. For instance, since I have started to live in a big city with better infrastructure and hygienic conditions, I have rarely visited a doctor for common illnesses. And in cases where I visited, it was very much affordable. Similarly, a friend of mine, unfortunately, had some issues with his kidney and needed a complex medical procedure to be done which incurred a huge sum of money. But as he got some concession with medical policy, he could afford it.

In conclusion, even though many people believe in equal and free treatment for all, policies should be formulated based on the condition of people living in a particular territory. I strongly believe that the government should not only provide free of charge medical services but also make the novel medicaments affordable for everyone.