Everyday millions of tons of food is wasted all over the world. Why do you think this is happening. How can this be solved.

Wastage of food is a grave concern in today's world. This essay will discuss why large food chains are responsible for this phenomenon and how better use of technology would help mitigate this problem.

One of the pressing issues in current times is the large quantities of food that get discarded around the world, especially in countries like United States. According to a study on wastage of food conducted by University of Wales in 2016, one prime source that was identified as the key enabler for this development were the large grocery and food chains. Inefficient inventory control was causing these grocery chains to stock up on more food products than than demand required. The unused food items had to be thrown away once their expiry date was met. It was estimated that Wegmans, a grocery chain popular in the North East region of the country, was getting rid of 1 million tonnes of expired food products every year due to poor inventory management.

In order to minimize this wastage caused by poor stock control, better inventory management softwares and tools need to be built and made available to these food companies. Governments and Private institutions should invest more in the field of Operations Research with focus on inventory control which would result in tools that would aid in more efficient handling of resources by these large food chains. This would help in better stocking of food products by these companies thereby minimizing the refuse generated by them.

In summary, mega supermarkets and grocery stores are one of the prime offenders in wastage of large quantities of food due to poor inventory management. Focus on developing better and more robust inventory prediction software and tools would help alleviate this problem and aid in reducing the food wastage.