Formal examinations have become the most common way of assessing a student’s performance.

Is it a positive or negative development in your view?

Most educational institutes utilize formal examinations to judge a student’s quality. While some people believe that formal tests can be a good medium to assess a student’s ability to perform in a class, others believe that it is not the best method to judge a student. In this essay, I will argue that a formal examination is not a good indicator of a student’s performance.

Although formal exams have become the most common way to inform a teacher about his student’s progress, they can put excessive mental pressures on the learner which can result in anxiety and depression. In Bangladesh, for instance, a student’s performance on the HSC exam will decide if he can attend a good university or not which can have enormous implications for their future studies and career prospects. As a result, many learners are overburdened with the exam pressure that can have a detrimental effect on their mental health. Clearly, this kind of high-stakes exam can be a stressful experience for the learners; specially those who can not handle stress well.

Another reason why exam-oriented education is a negative development is that it does not treat all students equally and only favors those who thrive in the exam environment. Many students feel that these time-oriented and usually written exams do not provide them enough opportunities to demonstrate their skills and knowledge related to their classes. If the universities and schools overly rely on formal tests to judge student performance, then they may neglect other ways to test a student’s ability and knowledge. Group presentation, assignments, and projects are a few of the ways an instructor can employ to evaluate a student’s performance. These methods may provide students to demonstrate their abilities and encourage them to learn, which can result in a fairer outcome.

In conclusion, Universities and colleges increasingly depend on formal examinations as a means of assessment which is a negative trend. Alternative methods of assessment should be used to evaluate a student’s performance.