Giving Pocket Money to Children is very common in many countries. Discuss both the advantages as well as disadvantages about the practice and what is your opinion about it.

Childhood is the perfect time to learn money management. It is increasingly become normal to give some pocket money to children. In my opinion, this would be beneficial for them to learn the basics of financial management, and saving despite the drawbacks such as bad habits, and poor associations. Let us discuss this further to have a better understanding.

Firstly, considering the benefits, by giving pocket money, children can realize the value of finance. To elaborate, when children own their cash, they learn not to waste because if they did, they would have trouble buying what they truly needed. For instance, a child can spend his pocket money to buy candy if their parent packs him a delicious lunch. But if he had to buy his lunch from the given cash, he would reconsider spending on candy, which teaches them how to manage it properly and responsibly. Moreover, parents can instruct them to save a portion of that money and afford whatever they desired, which encourages children to save and use money more consciously.

One the other hand, focusing on the negatives. Firstly, when they grow older, this money can be spent on consuming unhealthy products such as alcohol or cigarette. Secondly, by using this money, they could involve in some bad companies such as clubs and pubs, especially when they are in adolescence. In contrast, if they did not have money, the risk of such drawbacks would be minimized.

However, alcohol consumption or smoking, and getting involved with damaging people cannot be avoided just by not giving pocket money. Proper parental and school guidance is mandatory to prevent children from such detrimental habits.

To sum up, despite the negative side of alcohol addiction, smoking and wasting time with harmful people, giving some cash to children with proper guidance would upskill their financial management skills and saving habits.