Giving Pocket Money to Children is very common in many countries Discuss both the advantages as well as disadvantages about the practice and what is your opinion about it

Young adults have a right to get allowances from their parents, as they are not earning at this age. Nowadays, it is quite popular among parents to provide their children with pocket money. In this essay, I shall discuss both the negative and positive side to it and argue why providing pocket money is important for children.

Firstly, young people are naive to understand the finances, however by making them aware of monetary situation, one can help them to become better adults. Youngsters could be encouraged to save some part of their pocket money to buy things that they desire like games or books. This habit of saving money can be beneficial for handling their finances when they grow up. For Instance, in India, children aged between 15-18 save enough amount of their allowances to buy digital equipment which helps them to start their you tube channel and in return gets paid with handsome amount.

On the other hand, when children are given more money, in such situation without proper guidance by parents there are pretty good chances that their child might walk on the wrong path, such as alcohol consumption, smoking and drugs. So, parents had to monitor their child's spending and guide them in the right direction whenever needed. In a study conducted by Oxford university, they found that most of the youths between the age of 16-18 are more prone to the drug abuse.

In conclusion, pocket money is a way for a child to learn about managing the finances that will help then in their later life, however parental guidance is of utmost importance to stop these young minds from falling into the wrong hands.