A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their security.Therefore, Some people think that government should increase the spending on defence but less spend on social benefits. To what extent do you agree

In our society, there is a heated argument over the issue that government budget should be more focused on the defence expenditure rather than inclined towards subsidizing social benefits for general public. A significant share of society favors this approach, while the rest go averse to it. I personally stand with the latter section of the society, which prefers more spending on public education and health services as compared to buying expensive weapons. In the following paragraphs, I would like to discuss the reasons for my opinion on this matter.

In my view, the modern age is the war between the countries is more influence with the economic factors in contract with the earlier times. In order to achieve strength globally, countries are more focused on robust economic growth and holding a stable stream of social benefits to the people, such as free education and health care facility. Scientific communities are all agreed upon that good education, and better health care facilities are the two major contributing factors for producing quality human capital, which is the driving force for the country to ensure their safety in the world.

On the other side, it is also not logical to completely neglect the importance of armed forces in the country, as they stand as a wall against any oppression from an enemy in a difficult time. Even these forces contribute a lot to domestic natural cases disaster too. For Instance, the government of the united sate called the marine forces in the rehabilitation process at the time of the Katrina hurricane.

In conclusion, I would like to state that the top priority of legislators in the country should be to provide social benefit for their country mates; however, they should also keep an eye on their defence capabilities to some extent in order to maintain a deterrent against their enemies.