The government should control the Internet to reduce cyber-crime and ensure safety of users.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The increased use of internet has given rise to many serious issues such as cyber bullying, hacking, cyber fraud etc. In my opinion, such type of cyber crime has been burgeoned over a last decade and government should take preventive steps in putting a restraint over the undue usage of internet.

To begin with, due to easy accessibility to internet, people are finding new ways to commit a crime. There are numerous fraudulent websites that are meant to hack the personal information of people like bank account details or residential address. Many people get trapped by these deceitful websites and consequently lose their money. Even many internet users get suspicious emails from unknown ids. For instance, several times I get emails of winning a million dollars lottery and thus asking for my bank information. To save people from such crime, government should ban such dubious websites. Various techniques such as firewalls should be used and there should be a continuous monitoring of such malicious online activities by cyber cell.

In addition, the uncontrolled usage of internet is making a negative impact on youngsters. Many teenagers get addicted to pornographic websites and spoil their future. Several adolescents have become the victims of cyber bullying which resulted in many cases of suicides. For example, an online game named Blue Whale, incited many school children to perform atrocious tasks and eventually they tried to kill themselves. Since the youngsters are the future of our country, their safety is paramount. Government should enforce stringent laws and strict punishment for cyber bullying. Furthermore, the restrictions on internet should be reinforced, so that people can't misuse the internet.

In conclusion, in this era of media and technology, criminals use internet as an easy source to perpetrate a crime. Therefore, it is the responsibility of government to reduce this crime and save the public by controlling internet.