The government should control the Internet to reduce cyber crime and ensure safety of users To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

In this contemporary era, people are more dependent on technologies, especially the internet. As internet has become the pivot for many other technologies, criminals are distorting this technology for their benefits. Since the number of crimes has intensified, a stratum of society insists that governments must control the internet to ensure safety of its users, whereas, others disagree with the statement as it might impact their freedom. Although, I completely agree that governments must oversee internet, still I will delve into both the views in this essay.

From the advent of the internet, people are solely becoming dependent on it for education, business, entertainment, communication and so on. As its importance increases, many criminals are using this platform to steal others data without any traces. For example, in the year 2017, a malicious virus named ‘WannaCry Ransomware’ infected millions of computers across the globe. The criminals stole data’s from the user’s machine and demanded bitcoin cryptocurrency in exchange for those files. Even a giant manufacturing sector ‘Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company’ was affected and had to temporarily shut down their operations for more than a year. Sometimes, these cyber-criminals target lives of the innocent people. For instance, in 2016, many young people committed suicide as they were influenced and forced to commit suicide by the ‘Blue whale Challenge’ administrators. Hence, governments should have control over the internet to safe-guard their citizens’.

On the other hand, if the lawmakers oversee the internet, they might curb the freedom of its users. As per the information technology act 2000 of India, citizens’ have the right of freedom to express and speak their opinion in the social media. However, if the Indian government controls internet, this freedom could be impacted. For example, in the year 2019, the Indian government filed defamation cases against few people for circulating false information against the government over the social media, which was then dissolved due to the section 66 of information technology act.

To conclude, although government’s interference over the internet could deter individual’s freedom, still it can ensure the safety of its citizens’.