In many countries paying for things using mobile phone apps is becoming increasingly common Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages

Technological advancements have always made humans lives easier. One such cutting-edge technology, which has become ubiquitous around the globe is the mobile phone applications. In this essay, we will discuss about the merits and demerits of using these payment applications.

As payments through mobile applications help people to avoid carrying cash in hand, people feel that they are more convenient. During the coronavirus pandemic , many people are finding these payment platforms safer to use, as they are able to make ‘contactless’ payment. Moreover, as many of these applications keep every transaction recorded, people are able to keep a track on their expenses. For example, applications like Paytm and PayPal have all the transaction history recorded which can be downloaded in many formats like pdf, excel, etcetera. Further, many of the mobile payment platforms provide a lot of discounts and rewards for making payments through them. For instance, Google Pay provides rewards like cashback and discounts, for each and every transaction that their customer does.

However, there are few disadvantages of using this payment method also. Firstly, as these mobile applications are less secure, there are a lot of chances for fraudulent activities. Moreover, as these applications are linked to the user’s bank accounts, there is a high chance of hacking. A few months ago, the chairman of State Bank of India, Mr. Dinesh Kumar Khara had advised to his customers to restrain themselves from adding their bank accounts to their Unified Payments Interface applications as these applications could breach the bank’s cyber security. Furthermore, whenever a transaction fails and the money is debited from the user’s account, the user has to follow up only with the support team of the payment application, as the bank does not have any control over such transactions.

To conclude, although there are few risks involved in paying through mobile applications, still their advantages outweigh the disadvantages.