The cost of flying has decreased significantly over the last decade This has made overseas travel much more accessible Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend

Air travel is definitely an amazing experience that everyone should enjoy once in their life time. The cost of flying has been drastically decreasing over the past few years and thus, more people are travelling abroad in flights. Personally, I feel that this trend has more benefits, but still I will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of it in this essay.

Although there are many significant advantages of air travel, I feel faster transportation and contribution towards a country's economy are the most crucial ones. Earlier, when people had to travel through Waterways, they wasted a considerable amount of time in travelling, and as a result, they got less time for exploration. However, as travelling by plane is the fastest mode of transportation, it helps people in reducing their travel time, which they can utilize for visiting more foreign places. In addition to that, due to the low flying cost, both the upper as well as the middle stratum of society are travelling overseas to fulfill their dreams. Indeed, this helps the government as well as many industries associated with tourism. Hotels and tourism agencies, for instance, earn most of their income through foreign visitors and thus, it increases the Gross Domestic Product of a country.

However, many people contend that there are a few issues associated with increased air travel. First of all, some people advocate about the air pollution and air traffic that impact the environment. They opine that as more people travel in flights, the level of carbon emissions have been increasing and as a result, the environment is being affected detrimentally. Apart from this, during this coronavirus pandemic, when people travel across the globe, they are prone to the disease and can spread it to other countries as well. People from China, for instance, when travelling to Singapore during this pandemic, the number of coronavirus cases in Singapore surged.

In conclusion, although there are some drawbacks of increased air travel, I personally feel that it helps people to travel faster and aids countries' economy. Hence, the advantages of air travel outweigh its disadvantages.