Do you agree or disagree with the following statement All studentsshould be required to study art and music in secondary school Usespecific reasons to support your answer

Art is certainly a creative way of expression. Some advocate that arts should be made obligatory at schools, while others argue that schools must concentrate on other useful skills. I completely disagree that arts must be mandated at educational institutions and will elucidate my opinions in this essay.

Those who support arts contend that it aids children to learn about their history and culture. They insist the significance of knowing one’s past to preserve their identity. There are, however, subjects such as history, which as part of curriculum inculcate this historical information. Moreover, whomever is interested in learning any particular art such as dancing and music can learn these skills at private institutions on their own will. By doing so, they can concentrate on their particular area of interest instead of being glutted with abundant skills.

As the world has become more competitive in terms of science and technology, I insist that schools must concentrate on other useful skills. First of all, skills such as programming has become more crucial in the job market and students who get exposed to it at earlier years of education are often more successful. Art, on the other hand, does not help people in procuring jobs. Similarly, children need to concentrate more on learning languages such as English and French, as these skills help them to fetch job opportunities around the world. Unless students learn these primary skills, it is difficult for them to be successful in the future.

In conclusion, although art teaches students about their own history and culture, they can learn these skills from anywhere out of schools. I personally suggest that to make children more successful in the future, schools must concentrate on inculcating skills related to science and technology.